New member introduction profile requested -- I am a retired Senior Engineer

• Thread starter Norm Crump
  • Start date
In summary, a new member has requested for their introduction profile to be provided. They have stated that they are a retired Senior Engineer.
Norm Crump
I am a retired Senior R&D Engineer/Engineering Mgr./Corporate Senior Mantech Project Engineer involved in both EE, Welding Processes, Magnetics and Insulation systems, implanted medical devices, Aerospace vehicles and miltary and Naval hardware.

Prior to that I was one of the 1500 airmen given the special Electronics Engineer technical training to equip us to become airborne radar system mechanics/operators on board such aircraft as the Heavy B36 A bombers of SAC, etc. I was fortunate in that this early AF training got me into the advancement of computer controlled operations and systems which gave me a bit of success professionally.

Of my contributions, I am most proud of the Variable Polarity Plasma Arc Automatic Computer controlled weld system for the Space Shuttle, the discovery of the best way to weld titanium outside a vacuum which made possible the SR71, the titanium heart pacemaker case, the titanium hip joint which I made the tooling for, and the coinvention of the Tektran Arc Welding Robots with E. Leslie Toth now deceased.

At Westinghouse, I was initially in the Long Range Major Development Division of the Power Transformer Division; however, we took on superconductivity work, Long Range Radar Regulated Power supplies, the Quiet Nuclear Submarine Power supply program, the Nuclear Submarine Welding improvement program initiated after the Thresher sinking caused bad a bad braze joint which led to other developments such as Aerospace and Armored vehicle programs.