What should I be doing in the summer in between HS years?

In summary, Justin is a sophomore in high school who plans to pursue nuclear or astrophysics. He is currently taking honors chemistry and trig/pre-calc and will be taking AP Calc and physics next year. He is considering taking extra classes over the summer and is also looking into summer camps and programs related to astronomy and nuclear physics. He is also working on a Farnsworth fusor. He is seeking advice on what else he can do to prepare for these fields, including learning calculus and linear algebra and possibly participating in internships or learning programming.
jmandell
I'm a sophomore in HS and am planing to go into nuclear or astrophysics. I am wondering what I should be doing in preparation for going into these fields?

I am in honors chemistry and honors trig/pre-calc (with 98% in both classes) this year and will be taking AP Calc and physics next year. Should I be taking any extra classes over the summer that could help prepare me for junior year?

I am also looking at some summer camps such as Astronomy Camp at Kitt Peak observatory and the Physics of Atomic Nuclei program at Michigan State univeristy. Are these good programs, any other programs I should consider ? I am also starting to work on a farnsworth fusor.

Any other things I should do?

Thanks,
Justin

Physics news on Phys.org
Is your college funding all set?

If not I would suggest finding a steady paying job so that you can save for your education. If you have a wealthy benefactor, that's great, but I had to work all summer every summer to afford college.

My parents have said that they will pay undergrad and grad was up to me. I am planing to get a part time job also.

Why take classes? When I was in high school (or the equivalent in my country) I found a used copy of University Physics by Young and Freedman at my school library. I borrowed it over the summer and studied it. Of course it depends on your learning style.