What kind of grad schools can I realistically aim for?

• Schools
  • Thread starter xbomber88
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Grad Schools
In summary, the person in the conversation is a college sophomore who recently changed their major to physics and has developed a strong passion for it. They are curious about their potential for getting into grad school and the impact of their small liberal arts program on their chances. They are also considering staying an extra year to better prepare for grad school and have concerns about their grades and the courses they can take. They are aiming for top 25 programs, including UC Berkeley and UChicago. They are advised to talk to a physics professor about their scheduling concerns and to line up a major advisor. The conversation also highlights the importance of research opportunities and strong letters of recommendation for getting into grad school.
xbomber88
I am a college sophomore who has recently changed my major to physics and really fallen in love with it. My freshmen year I was a business major but found it to be really boring and didn't like my school so I transferred to a highly ranked liberal arts college with the intention of majoring in math. However, once I got there I decided after a few months that I really loved physics and decided to change my major to physics. I'm taking my first real class in physics this semester, mechanics. I did take physics in high school but I stupidly decided not to take AP physics and just took a normal non calculus based physics class and it was ridiculously easy and kind of boring so back ten I didn't realize how much I liked physics. But I've really fallen in love with the course I'm taking now. I know this may seem kind of premature since I'm just now taking my first course in physics but I really think that I probably want to get a PhD in physics. So basically what I'm wondering is what kind of grad schools I'll be able to get into if I work really hard. How does the GRE compare