What is the method for solving the Gaussian integral?

In summary, the student attempted to find the Gaussian integral but ran into trouble with converting to polar coordinates. They were then helped by another student who showed them how to find the integral.
Noorac

Homework Statement

Find the Gaussian integral:

[itex]I = \int_{-\infty}^{\infty} e^{-x^2-4x-1}dx [/itex]

(That's all the information the task gives me, minus the [itex]I=[/itex], I just put it there to more easily show what I have tried to do)

2. The attempt at a solution
I tried to square [itex]I[/itex] and get a double integral:

[itex]I^2 = \int_{-\infty}^{\infty}\int_{-\infty}^{\infty} e^{(-x^2-4x-1)+(-y^2-4y-1)}dxdy [/itex]

and then my plan was to convert to polar-coordinates, however, this is my first time ever with double-integrals and/or switching to polarcoordinates, and I am kind of lost because every single example on the internet use the standard [itex]e^{-x^2}[/itex] gaussian function(and it is easy to see [itex]r^2=x^2+y^2[/itex]). Anyone who can push me in the right direction(I'm not even sure what finding the Gassuian integral means(?))?

Physics news on Phys.org
Complete the square. -x^2-4*x-1=(-(x+2)^2+3). Try using that.

Tried that earlier on, but didn't get anywhere with it. Been trying it some more now, but I still don't see it though. I don't see the next step, I'm going to try some more though=) Thanks

Noorac said:
Tried that earlier on, but didn't get anywhere with it. Been trying it some more now, but I still don't see it though. I don't see the next step, I'm going to try some more though=) Thanks

Next step would be a change of variables, u=x+2. Keep thinking about it.

There! At least I got to the same answer as Wolfram Alpha;

[itex] I = \sqrt{\pi}e^{3}[/itex]

I hope it is correct. The steps I did after changeing variables [itex]r^2=(x+2)^2 + (y+2)^2[/itex] was substituting

[itex]u=r^2[/itex]

[itex]\frac{du}{dr}= 2r[/itex]

[itex]du = 2rdr[/itex]