What is best for me, applied physics or pure physics?

In summary, pure physics is the best degree for someone who wants to do research for companies all day.
Felix Gonzales
I'm currently finishing up my second year in college and I'm expected to graduate on time (in two years) and I'm majoring in pure physics. I don't really fully understand the difference between applied physics and pure physics because anytime I look into it online there's 10 different answers and opinions. So my question to you all is, which is best for me, in your educated opinion, for someone who wants to be doing research for companies all day? I do plan on going on for a masters and PhD when the time comes and from what I've heard, it's best to be in pure physics if I plan on that, but what about after my education? What would be the best degree for me to graduate from my masters courses with?

Physics news on Phys.org
At a given school, the difference usually comes down to required courses. Could you make a list of which courses are required for each degree at your school, and we could explain the practical differences?

Two issues to consider.

(1) As Dr. Courtney indicated, one issue is the set of required courses. If you have identified your target career, then it's a matter of comparing the sets of required courses and seeing which set best maps into your target career. For example, I got my PhD in physics many moons ago. Going into grad school, I knew that I wanted to specialize in solid-state physics and then work in industrial R&D, not academia. At my grad school, however, required core grad courses for a physics PhD included topics such as high-energy physics. I had no interest in it, it bored the hell out of me, yet it sucked up a lot of time since I had no intuitive feel for it.

If you haven't identified your target career, though, you obviously can't go through this exercise.