What Grad Schools Can I Get Into?

• Schools
  • Thread starter Crush1986
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Grad Schools
In summary, the person is looking for a school that will allow them to pursue their research interests. They have a 3.5 GPA and an 850 GRE score. They have been a tutor and an SI for physics, and are primarily looking for schools in California.
Crush1986
Hi guys. I'm just looking for a little help with how "big" of a school I can realistically get into for graduate studies.

GPA: 3.5 (for both physics and generals)

Physics GRE: 850

Research: At the time of graduation I will of had 1.5 years experience. (I'm not sure exactly of how the accomplishments here are going to be though.)

Getting letters of recommendation shouldn't be a problem.

I was a tutor for 1 year, and an SI (supplemental instuctor) for another (both for physics).

I'm primarily looking for campuses in California. I'm also not sure of what type of field I'd like to research. My primary goal is just getting help with knowing what schools are in reach.

It might be useful to note that my GPA in upper division physics is near 4.0. Most of my "poor" grades came from my first few quarters.

Thank you to anyone who takes the time to help me out!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
For what it's worth, I think you're looking at this backwards.

You need to figure out what area you want to go into before you think about which schools you want to apply to based on someone else's ranking criteria.

You see part of getting into any school - big name and otherwise - is having a plan for what you want to do. This will come though in your personal statement, but perhaps most importantly it plays a role in slot alottment, and that can be huge.