What GPA is this percentage equivalent to?

In summary, based on the information provided, it is difficult to determine what tier of graduate schools you would be applying to next year. Your overall grade of 90% at UBC may translate to a GPA of 4, but this can vary depending on the institution's scaling system. Your research experience may also be a factor in the application process. It is important to research and compare the requirements and expectations of different graduate schools before making a decision on where to apply.
vancouver_water
I imagine there's no simple answer to this, but I'm wondering what tier graduate schools I would be applying to next year. I am in third year so I still have over a year before applications, but I'm curious. My overall grade is 90% at UBC. I'll have about a year and a half of research experience when I apply.

Physics news on Phys.org
You can assume a strict scaling using percentages of 90,80,70,60 corresponding to minimums of A, B, C, D. Anything below 60% may be taken as F. Just understand that scaling may differ among different institutions.

vancouver_water said:
I imagine there's no simple answer to this, but I'm wondering what tier graduate schools I would be applying to next year. I am in third year so I still have over a year before applications, but I'm curious. My overall grade is 90% at UBC
Vague details will get you vague answers.
Actually there is a simple answer to convert % or letter grade to GPA. An A=4, B=3, etc... As far as %, anything over 90% is a GPA of 4, 80-89% is a 3. etc...