What Drives the Mind of a Math Genius?

• Thread starter JWHooper
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Genius
I guess.In summary, Faraday was an absolute genius in experimental physics, but he lacked a strong understanding of higher mathematics. His combination of experimental work and theoretical analysis by Maxwell is considered a classic example of the optimum balance between pure experimental and pure theoretical work. This serves as a counterexample to the theory that physical genius automatically implies mathematical genius. However, his lack of mathematical expertise did not diminish his contributions to the field of electromagnetism and he is still highly regarded as a major figure in the history of science.

If a person is a math genius, then is that person a physics genius?

• Yes.

Votes: 3 13.0%
  • No.

Votes: 20 87.0%

• Total voters
JWHooper
I want to see the real answer to this one.

Physics news on Phys.org
I voted no. I'm not good at physics.

I would be more interested in the opposite question. Are physics geniuses also math geniuses?

isn't physics just applied mathematics?

jostpuur said:
I would be more interested in the opposite question. Are physics geniuses also math geniuses?
No...

jostpuur said:

No, a Physics genius can still function in the real world.

No, but the converse holds true.

i voted yes because everybody else voted no

doesn't that make me even more the genius that i already am ?

marlon

jostpuur said:

Hm, theoretical physicists... maybe. Experimental physicists - no. Best example is Michael Faraday - an absolute genius of experimental physics, but pretty clueless about math.

Oberst Villa said:
Hm, theoretical physicists... maybe. Experimental physicists - no. Best example is Michael Faraday - an absolute genius of experimental physics, but pretty clueless about math.

How do you know that he was clueless about math ?

marlon

marlon said:
How do you know that he was clueless about math ?
He met him!

marlon said: