What Drives a Retired Machinist's Curiosity in Science and Innovation?

In summary, a retired machinist's curiosity in science and innovation is driven by their desire to continue learning and staying mentally active. They are motivated by their natural curiosity and passion for problem-solving, as well as their interest in new technologies and advancements in the field. This drive for knowledge and exploration keeps them engaged and fulfilled in their retirement years.
Rad Manfred
I retired from mundane jobs. I now read about things of interest such as but not limited to energy conservation and discoveries. I've liked science all my life .Stopped going to college but completed 2 semesters of calculus and 2 semesters of Chemistry many years ago.
I have 17 years experience in machining .So I read prints and thanks to high school electronics I am familiar with schematics.The electronics course had one chapter on transistors but lots of phase angle equations and ohms law.
I make things sometimes for myself and others .
I have 2 projects on reducing electricity usage that are low tech.
During the first gulf war I saw an engineer convert a CNC mill to deposit a thin stack of wax in a vertical column.Then not long after that they made a prototype part using some kind of rigid plastic .We were in the model shop at Texas Instruments .This was early development of additive manufacturing .I was amazed that the engineer could set that up on that 3 axis mill without wrecking it. I worked on a 5 axis mill making fiberglass cores for the electromagnets for the large Hadron Collider . I guess they were prototypes possibly not even full scale ,made from about 4 inch diameter green Fiberglass thick walled tubes . They made a lot of dust when we shaped the curved path that I assume was to be the surface the wire was wound on.