What does time mean in the context of BB theory?

In summary, I would like to understand more about time. I am studying amongst other things, reality. If BB theory is the standard explanation for the start of everything then I would like to know how it explains the start of time.
Johninch
I would like to understand more about time. I am studying amongst other things, reality. If BB theory is the standard explanation for the start of everything then I would like to know how it explains the start of time.

We link time to space and to events (entropy) and we measure time in defined units related to changes in the energy level of the caesium atom. Seems clear to me what time is. I don’t understand what is meant by claims that time is an illusion.

BB theory says that time started with the existence of the singularity. I think it has to, otherwise we don’t get any BB sequence flow.
Space also has to exist, otherwise there isn’t any expansion.

If the singularity was a one-time event, how did information flow in the first fraction of a second in order to feed the expansion? In one place I read, it is ascribed to negative gravity and in another place it is ascribed to a vacuum effect i.e. the expansion was a sucking process rather than a pushing process. In this version, what did the sucking? Or if it was a pushing process using dark energy, how does dark energy push?

Taking the negative gravity version, if in a high density, high mass environment gravity slows time down and presumably negative gravity speeds it up, was this factored into the BB timeline calculations? Am I correct in understanding that if the universe was initially highly compressed, time would hardly flow due to high gravity. Then with the reversal of gravity, time would suddenly speed up tremendously, hence the very high rate of initial expansion? Is this what is meant?