What background is needed for nuclear physics

In summary: I'm a nuclear physicist. Where do your interests lie - low energy (nuclear structure) or high energy (qgp) nuclear physics? If the former, Krane's Nuclear Physics would be a good choice. He gives you just enough quantum mechanics to tackle the material. Even if your interests are focused on the latter you should start with Krane, then move on to something intermediary like Greiner's or Weiskopf's nuclear physics.Only in a weak sense. As you likely know, low energy nuclear physics is nonperturbative, so one resorts to effective models, such as the liquid drop or shell model or S-Martix...In summary, it seems that in order to study nuclear physics, one needs a
Chandler
Hello. I am currently just a 2nd year undergrad, with nuclear physics being my end goal for study. However, as of now, I cannot even open an entry-level nuclear energy textbook without being totally lost. So I am asking: what background is needed (in terms of courses, materials, etc.) in order to finally be able to enter into the nuclear world?

Some relevant background of what I've taken:
Math: up to vector calc/diff eq./lin alg
Phys: up to advanced mechanics/advanced E&M/advanced optics/basic quantum/basic relativity

Essentially, what fields must I be familiar with (and, if possible, what textbooks are good) in order to have the background needed to learn nuclear physics?

Physics news on Phys.org
It seems strange that with your background you are struggling with intro nuc phys. Perhaps your quantum is weak. In the intro nuc phys book you have used could you give a list of topics covered to make sure I understand your issues.

gleem said:
It seems strange that with your background you are struggling with intro nuc phys. Perhaps your quantum is weak. In the intro nuc phys book you have used could you give a list of topics covered to make sure I understand your issues.