What are the research opportunities for a PhD in astrophysics in Qatar?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of pursuing a PhD in astrophysics in Qatar. The University of Qatar and Hamad bin Khalifa University do not offer a PhD program in physics, and the options for western universities with satellite campuses are limited to certain subject areas. The individual's family is planning to move to Qatar, but it seems that pursuing a PhD in this field may not be a viable option in the country.
Navami V
I completed my Masters degree in physics from an Indian University. I would like to know more about research opportunities (PhD) in Qatar in the field of astrophysics. Please guide me

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you have reason to believe this even exists?

The University of Qatar's graduate admissions page is here. Note that they do not admit PhD students in physics.

The Hamad bin Khalifa University's graduate admissions page is http://www.hbku.edu.qa/en/DynamicPages/index/139/hbku-admissions . Note that they do not have a PhD program.

That appears to exhaust the possibilities. There are various western universities with satellite campuses, but you'd do better to apply to those institutions directly as my impression is that their activities in Qatar are limited to certain subject areas (principally archaeology and arabic studies).

Last edited by a moderator:
@Vanadium 50 I don't know.. Since my family is shifting there, I was exploring options!

@pasmith thanks! :)

pasmith made my concerns concrete - Qatar is a tiny country. It has twice as many universities as I thought: two.

Related to What are the research opportunities for a PhD in astrophysics in Qatar?

1. What universities in Qatar offer a PhD in astrophysics?

Currently, there are two universities in Qatar that offer a PhD in astrophysics: Qatar University and Hamad Bin Khalifa University.

2. What are the admission requirements for a PhD in astrophysics in Qatar?