What are the energy implications of time travel into the future?

In summary, the train would circumscribe the planet and pass through its one station seven times every second.The system would contain so much kinetic energy that it would turn the planet into a ticking bomb.Not to mention that the Earth does not contain enough energy to power it.There's no physical way to contain it against the colossal forces involved.And the g-forces on the passengers and somewhere around one billion g's.However, the principle is sound. Moving at .99999998c (the speed of light to within one part in 100 million) would let you experience only one week as a century passed on Earth.
Suraj M
Gold Member
I'm new to all these concepts so sorry if i make any mistake in advance !
I watched a video on Nat Geo a few months ago it was about time travel into the future which is quite possible.
They talked of building a track that goes around the earth. A train would go around the Earth at a very high speed so hence slowing down time for the passengers. They said that 1 week in the train would be equal to 100 years on the earth.
My question is regarding the energy for the train.
I f you power it from the outside then you'll have to supply energy to the train for a 100 years and if you supply the energy from inside it would be just for a week! What am i missing here? Don't say change in mass!

Physics news on Phys.org
The concept, of course, is fantasy.
The train would circumscribe the planet and pass through its one station seven times every second.
The system would contain so much kinetic energy that it would turn the planet into a ticking bomb.
Not to mention that the Earth does not contain enough energy to power it.
There's no physical way to contain it against the colossal forces involved.
And the g-forces on the passengers and somewhere around one billion g's.