Questions regarding traveling speed in time and gravity as a force

In summary, the speaker, an engineer with knowledge of physics and calculus, has limited understanding of relativity from university and has gained most of their knowledge through personal research online. They are skeptical about some concepts they have encountered, such as the idea that everything travels at the speed of light, and do not see empirical evidence or logical sense in this claim. They also question the explanation of gravity as the curvature of spacetime and believe it is treated as a spatial dimension, which they do not agree with.
ffp
I am an Engineer, so I have some knowledge about physics and calculus. I've seen relativity in university years ago but only briefly. The majority of my knowledge in SR and GR, which isn't much, are from reading, studying and searching online myself.

I have seen some definitions that I am not sure it's true, due to internet being a pace full of wrong facts. So, here I ask my doubts about relativity:

1- I've seen more than once people saying that we (as everything in the universe) travel at the speed of light. Just that inertial objetct travel with the speed of light in time and moveing objects travel with less speed in time and more in space. I understand that spacetime interval are invariant, but they aren't necessarily always equal to c, right? Also, the ct time-component of the metric are a convention thing, right? So that this coordinate get a unit of space? Anyway, I've seen no good reason or proof to believe that everything travel with c in spacetime.