Using analog computer to solve 2nd-order diff eq

In summary: I think the differential equation [1] solves out?Yes, the equation will solve for x(t). However, you will need to use some trigonometric methods to solve for the actual frequency and amplitude of the waveform.
dilloncyh
I'm trying to build a circuit to solve the differential equation x''+2x'+x = f(t), where f(t) is a sine wave with frequency 5Hz and amplitude 0.5V. I am supposed to get a sine/cosine wave (as the diff. eq is just the same as the ove governing spring-mass forced oscillation) as solution, but instead I get a delta function every 0.1s with alternating sign. What's wrong with my circuit? How should I modify it to get the solution I want, and what else do I need to pay attention when solving any 2nd-order diff equation with constant coefficients in general?

PS: I'm actually a 1st-year physics student with very little prior experience in circuit. Sorry if this question sounds stupid. thanks

Attachments

• 2nd order diff eq.jpg
    2nd order diff eq.jpg
    26.1 KB · Views: 1,382
Engineering news on Phys.org
One issue is that the common-mode voltage of the input is wrong. You need to dc bias your input source (by putting a dc source in series) so you're in the common-mode range of your first op amp.

The easiest way to debug this kind of circuit is to simulate each independent block separately and verify they work alone before you hook them up. Circuits the size you show almost never work the first time.

I would suggest, especially since you're a beginner, to debug the architecture of your circuit using voltage-controllled voltage sources (VCVS in SPICE) in place of your opamps. You can find out how to model opamps this way in a million spice tutorials.

Cool circuit, I'm sure you can make it work.

dilloncyh said:
What's wrong with my circuit?

My analog computing course was fifty years ago...
but i notice

firstly you have all 3 inputs to U2 shorted together at left side of R2 R1 and R3