Undergraduate research in computer science

In summary, the conversation discusses the interest of an undergraduate student in conducting research in discrete mathematics or theoretical computer science. The individual asks for suggestions on interesting research topics and open problems, and is advised to seek guidance from experienced professors and start with smaller projects. The conversation also mentions the importance of attending seminars and talking to professors about their own research.
NJOsment
I'm an undergraduate student studying computer science.I am interested in doing some research in discrete mathematics or theoretical computer science.Can anyone tell some interesting research topics or open problems on which i can work on?

Physics news on Phys.org
There is this blog of a theoretical computer scientist, http://weblog.fortnow.com/, which has some interesting information and also links to other resources in theoretical computer science.

P vs. NP.

Barring that, ask a professor! There's plenty of things that a reasonably bright undergraduate can solve but you're going to want someone with experience and a big-picture knowledge of the field to guide you, and you won't find that online.

Start small.
ask around your dept. if anyone has projects they could use some help with, whatever help that may be. From there you can work your way up
Don't expect to delve right into solving open problems.
As Will said, find an adviser, make friends with one of your professors and see if they could use your help on their research.