Undergrad Student: Preparing for Quantum/Particle Physics

In summary, if you want to work with Quantum Mechanics or Particle Physics in the future, you should take some courses in Quantum Mechanics and Classical Mechanics.
Pallatinus
So, I'm a undergraduate student. And I want to know what classes should I take to work with Quantum mechanics or Particle Physics in the future.
I want a good general physics knowledge too.

Physics news on Phys.org
Pallatinus said:
So, I'm a undergraduate student. And I want to know what classes should I take to work with Quantum mechanics or Particle Physics in the future.
I want a good general physics knowledge too.
Nice choice, I like that too.
Take some Quantum Mechanics courses as a starter. A university may for example have QM 1, QM2, QM3, with QM1 covering the basics of wave mechanics in one dimension, solving Schrodinger equation, scattering, basics of spin, then in 3D angular momentum, the hydrogen atom. QM2 may cover addition of angular momentum, perturbation theory, and lots of applications and approximation methods. QM3 may cover relativistic QM, with an introduction to Feynman diagrams, the Klein Gordon equation, and the dirac equation and perturbative scattering theory.

For the mathematical tools that you will need, taking a course that talks about classical lagrangian and hamiltonian mechanics is helpful. Also you definitely need linear algebra and vector calculus. Also you should know well classical electromagnetism and special relativity if you want to get into Particle Physics. Many applications of QM are also within the real of thermodynamics and statistical mechanics, so those subjects will solidify your understanding. Obviously for QM, you will need to have a good understanding of classical mechanics too. I expect universities will teach those subjects anyway.