Thinking of switching graduate programs.

In summary, the graduate student in experimental condensed matter physics has found their motivation for physics decreasing and is considering changing fields and reapplying to a materials science and engineering program. They feel guilty and unsure about how to handle the situation, but are open to talking to a professor for advice.
chill_factor
I'm a graduate student in experimental condensed matter physics. Over the last few months, I've found my motivation for physics decreasing substantially going from "I'm definitely doing my PhD in this" to "grabbing my MS and change fields"; now I'm not even sure I can withstand the MS.

As I was sitting in class yesterday it dawned on me: I didn't understand the point of this class. I could not see application of any of the stuff that they've taught me to my research, because there was no new science; it was old science packaged in harder math. Maybe I'm wrong and there IS new science, but it just isn't for me to see it. My mathematical skills are OK but I neither have the interest nor the ability to pursue theoretical research.

My grades aren't too bad. However, each and every physics assignment has been an uphill struggle taking hours for a single problem. I wouldn't mind if this was on something interesting but doing it for the Nth rigid body problem or Nth hydrogen atom is not the greatest motivation. This sort of frustration, coupled with the realization that what I'm learning is not going to directly apply to what I'm doing, saps me of energy. My health and my research plans have taken a decline due to spending far too much time doing homework.