The loneliness of the discretized discipline

• Thread starter SixNein
  • Start date
In summary, a computer scientist has trouble explaining their work to their grandmothers and think Jack and Johnny are good listeners.
SixNein
Gold Member
I've been drinking tonight, and when I'm drinking, I start thinking about off the wall topics. I'm a computer scientist, and there are several abstractions between my area and the physical world. Before one ever gets to my world, he or she must go past the layers of nature, physics, basic electronics, digital circuit design, logic gates, some architecture like Von Neumann or Harvard, assembly language, programming language, oceans of math, and finally into my area of machine learning.

The problem of having a field like mine is that a Neil Degrasse Tyson lifestyle is simply off the table. When one is in a highly discretized field, he or she can't point to some physical object to explain to grandmother what exactly he or she does. And there is a deal of loneliness in such a thing.

Can you explain what you do to your grandmother? Why or why not?

Physics news on Phys.org
Before one ever gets to my world, he or she must go past the lawyers...
... um, what?
Oh right, that's "layers".
(I'm half cut too...)

I cannot explain anything to my g'ma ... she's dead.
But I find Jack and Johnny are good listeners.

Likes TumblingDice
Simon Bridge said:
Oh right, that's "layers".
(I'm half cut too...)

Me too, and I think Simon's mention of layers is spot on. Whoever your audience may be, the first assumption is they've asked a question - they've expressed an interest in understanding more about what you feel a need to explain. Explanations are your thoughts and worth nothing to anyone else who isn't interested in an explanation.