Take both AP chemistry and AP physics in junior year?

In summary: Physics C. But if you're totally new to calculus, then Physics B might be a better option for you. The SAT Subject Tests are not necessary to take in order to major in a specific area; you can take them if you want, but it's not necessary.
snowmn
Hi, I am a high school sophomore and am thinking about what courses I need to register for my junior year.

My advisor suggests that I take AP chemistry in junior year and AP physics in senior year. I wonder if I follow this suggestion, I won't have enough knowledge when I take the ACT test in my junior year. So I am thinking to take both AP chemistry and AP physics in my junior year, which will mean that I have to skip Spanish or Orchestra. Is this a good idea? Thanks a lot. By the way, I usually achieve A for all courses I have taken; I will also take pre-calculus in my junior year.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
What does that have to do with the ACT? Are you perhaps thinking of the SAT Subject tests? The ACT is a general comprehension exam. Also, is this AP Physics B or AP Physics C? The former is much easier than the latter so make sure to take that into account. Follow your interests - don't cut out Orchestra just because you need to finish off AP Physics in junior year seeing as you can always just take it in senior year. Don't compromise something you genuinely want to engage when you are at the junior year high school level (especially something as fun as Orchestra).