AP Bio then AP Physics 1 or other way around?

In summary, the speaker is a sophomore planning their courses for next year and is interested in taking AP Calc BC and AP Bio and AP Physics 1 before graduating. They are unsure if they should take Physics during their senior year without Calculus or during their junior year with Calculus. The expert summarizer recommends taking Biology and Calculus first, followed by Physics, as it will allow the speaker to learn about their favorite subject earlier and be better prepared for the Physics course. This may also help in deciding which universities to apply to.
Something123
Hey! I’m a sophomore that is scheduling for next year. Hopefully, I will be taking AP Calc BC next year (junior year). As for my science course, I want to take AP Bio and AP Physics 1 before graduating, but we can only take one per year. So would you recommend Physics during my senior year when I don’t have Calculus or during my junior year when I have Calculus (just as a reference, I’m more interested in Bio, so I’m not looking to go for Physics C).

Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Since you are more interested in Biology, I'd take that first along with your Calculus course. Then take the Physics course after that. You get to learn about your favorite subject earlier, and you will be better prepared for the Physics course if you have completed Calculus first, IMO.

Having Biology early also may help you in deciding which universities to apply to. Have fun!

Likes bhobba

1. Which one should I take first: AP Biology or AP Physics 1?

It ultimately depends on your personal strengths and interests. If you have a strong background in biology and enjoy it, AP Biology may be a good choice. If you have a strong foundation in math and enjoy physics, AP Physics 1 may be a better fit. Consider speaking with your teacher or guidance counselor for their recommendation.