Summer Research Ideas in Lasers/Laser Cooling

In summary, the person would like to build a control system for a laser process, but does not know how to get started. They would like to talk to professors about the project and see what ideas they might have.
svrphy
Hello,
I am a final Year undergrad in B.Sc in Electronics. I am going to apply for a Summer Research (2months period )in Lasers in other institutions and I am thinking to work on Laser Cooling. I have to specify a short, innovative project idea.
I have gone through courses in Quantum mechanics, Microprocessors, Communication systems ,E&M & optics.

Can anybody give me any ideas which can suitably apply my knowledge of microcontrollers/communication systems to Lasers . Eg : i went through the following (but couldn't get the essence of the whole thing)
http://arxiv.org/abs/1104.0064

PS : Most professors in the institutions are working of BEC, Lasers, Quantum Optics and Laser Cooling. But, given my knowledge set, i thought i could manage lasers/laser cooling the best & of course would be thankful for all ideas

Thanks very much in advance ..

Physics news on Phys.org
So you would like to build a control system for a laser process? That very much depends on the feedback signals that are available, and an understanding of the control algorithm required.

I have seen undergraduates do excellent work on summer projects - with laser based experiments - but the basic design of the project, as well as all of the hardware were already available in most cases.

So I suggest that you contact the people that you would be working with and have them suggest a project - then they will be providing some support.

UltrafastPED said:
So I suggest that you contact the people that you would be working with and have them suggest a project - then they will be providing some support.

Actually If I can come up with some illustrative ideas, and talk to them, I think they can tell me the type of apparatus available.