Help with personal statement for an REU

In summary, the student is interested in pursuing a career in gravitational wave science, and is excited by the potential of the LIGO Scientific Collaboration. They have built a PDH servo and are interested in continuing their research in precision interferometry and alignment sensing and control loops.
lanphys
I would like an opinion on what I've written as this is my first time applying/writing a statement. The question asks "500 words or less expressing your interest in LIGO science, including the kinds of science topics and projects you are most interested in pursuing."

I am a current undergraduate physics student at the [University] planning to graduate in the fall of 201x. My interest in science wasn’t centered in physics specifically at first; my undergraduate career begun with an interest in engineering. The introductory chemistry courses lead me at first to pure science as I found the concepts to be more fundamental and engaging. The introductory physics courses then lead me further down the rabbit hole, I became fascinated with the curriculum and the knowledge I would be familiar with. My long term goals are now to further my education after graduate school in a PhD program within the gravitational wave field and eventually be a scientist in the field.