Study what youi love vs, what you do the best in?

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of whether to study what one loves or what will result in the highest grades. The individual is currently a computer engineering student and loves the material, but struggles to get good grades. They mention advice from others to focus on getting a high GPA rather than studying what they love. However, some argue that studying what one loves can result in a higher GPA. The conversation also touches on the idea of being a bad test taker and the importance of understanding the material and improving writing skills. Ultimately, the individual believes in studying what interests them rather than focusing solely on grades.
Llama77
Is it better to study what you love?

Or is it better top study what you will get the highest grades in?

I ask as I am currently a computer engineering student and really love the material, though I love it and study plenty I still do not manage to get very good grades. I don't usually get better than a C+, except in my cs classes were I always get B's. I may spend upwards of 10-11 hours a day of pure studying then classes. This does vary a lot. So even with all my studying I just don't get good grades, mostly this is due to me doing poorly on tests. I am just a bad test taker, I am unable to portray my knowledge in 50 minutes on a test. Though in all labs I have never gotten below a 100, and I am now a junior. My hardest classes being Physics and Calculus/math.

Now everybody on different boards such as collegeconfidential and my advisor's as well as parents all tell me never to study what I love but to study what will get me the highest gpa possible. It kinda sucks that what I am good in is not what I love, my true skill is in Memorization, so I guess I should be studying some sort of biology.

so is it better to stick with what you love or just do what you are good at and in result have a better gpa.

Physics news on Phys.org