Study Abroad for Physics Major

In summary, I think studying abroad is a great opportunity for those interested in pursuing a STEM degree. However, it is not as common for STEM majors to study abroad, and you may need to find an excuse to do so. Furthermore, many universities in North America have specific agreements with universities outside of North America to allow their students to pursue study abroad, which can be helpful.
StrangeCharm
I've seen some discussions about studying abroad, but I wanted to post my own to get more recent comments. I'm an undergrad in a US college and looking into studying abroad for a semester. However, I've noticed that it's not as common for STEM majors to study abroad as it is for humanities majors. Has anyone here studied abroad? If so, where did you go and how was your experience? Do you know of any particular study abroad programs for physics majors?

Physics news on Phys.org
I also wanted to study abroad - in fact, an international component was required for a university scholarship I got. However, there were a few reasons why, as a STEM major, I decided to stay back:
  1. Research. My professors were just starting a big project, and had I left for a semester, I wouldn't have been a co-author. It's always possible to find a research opportunity abroad, but your usefulness there will be limited, especially if there's a language barrier.
  2. For some reason, a lot of STEM courses didn't transfer. At that time, I would've been a second-semester sophomore. I could've taken E&M and quantum abroad, but they wouldn't have transferred back. Only the humanities, and calculus (which I had already taken) would've counted at my home university, so it was a no-go for me.
I'll be perfectly honest though, you need to find an excuse to get out and see the world. It may not be the most practical of options, but even if you just go to Europe for a summer, it's an opportunity you need to take.

Likes StrangeCharm