Student Learning Set Theory Independently

In summary, a high school student is independently studying set theory and is struggling with understanding certain concepts like isomorphism. They have been studying for two months but feel they are progressing too slowly and have also experienced stress while studying for extended periods of time. They are seeking recommendations for resources or alternative approaches to learning set theory.
praeclarum
Hi,

I am a high school student, and I am trying to learn set theory (it's not for school - independent study; I love it). I have a book (Takeuti/Zaring Introduction to Axiomatic Set) Theory and I am going through it, but I feel like I'm going way to slowly (after trying to go through it for 2 months now and countless hours, I'm only just completed chapter 8 on ordinal arithmetic out of 20 chapters or so. And this is like for 1.5 hours a day and the first 4 chapters you can finish in a day.). Furthermore, I feel like I don't quite understand the idea of ... say, an isomorphism. Like, I could explain to you exactly what it is, but I feel like I am just spitting out the definition, and that I don't have a true understanding of it. Plus, sometimes I get really stressed for some reason when I do it for more than 2 hours.

It's a problem because none of my teachers can really help me with it. What do you recommend?

Physics news on Phys.org
Set theory is a good place to start, but a book devoted to it may not be the way to go for someone with little experience (I assume) in pure mathematics. For a good introduction to proofs, I recommend something like Gilbert's Elements of Modern Algebra (there are some very cheap used copies on amazon). It covers the basic of set theory and will walk you through everything clearly enough that you'll quickly get the hang of abstract math (plus, abstract algebra is an absolutely fundamental subject in mathematics).

Number Nine said: