Student Facing Criminal Charges for Writing Assignment

In summary: I'm not sure if I believe that the criminal charge will be dropped, but I don't think it's warranted at this point.In summary, a student has been criminally charged for writing an essay that allegedly contained violent content. There is speculation that the charges may not stand up in court, as the essay does not appear to meet the legal definition of a threat.
arunma
Here's an interesting piece of news I found today:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/18353425/&GT1=9246"

Apparently a student wrote a violent essay for a creating writing assignment, and he's being criminally charged. The maximum jail time is 30 days.

I'm no legal expert, but I'm quite surprised to hear this. The article doesn't mention any threat directed at a particular individual or organization (though he did possibly make an indirect threat). Is it legal to criminally charge him for writing this? After all, many modern musicians write lyrics that are far worse, and they are protected under free speech laws. I don't take any particular position on whether or not it's right to charge this guy, but if anyone knows, I'd honestly be interested to know more about the legal aspects of this. What boundaries are there on free speech, and why do they seem to be more restrictive for high school students?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
This is ridiculous. Talk about over reacting. You can be arrested for bad taste now?

At most, a visit to a counselor to see if the kid shows signs of behavioral or mental problems. So far it seems this kid has no history of problems?