Statement of Purpose: Physics Grad & International Student

In summary, it is not recommended to mention in your statement of purpose that you only attended labs during your BS program and still achieved high grades. This may suggest a lack of interest in physics and could have a negative impact on your application. It is better to let your grades speak for themselves rather than mentioning alternative study methods. Additionally, being highly dedicated and not relying on compulsory tasks is important for success in a PhD program. While you may have had the intention of highlighting your ability to study independently, it is better to focus on your strong academic performance in your statement of purpose.
diraccc
I'm an international student applying to some physics phd programs, during my BS i only attended labs (here, attending lectures is not obligatory)... and still I got high grades.
the question is: "is this fact positive or negative to mention in my statement of purpose"?

Physics news on Phys.org
I would definitely NOT mention that if I were you.

thanks, because I was thinking otherwise!

Don't take my answer as gold, it was given from a purely rational thinking perspective, so maybe someone else can chime in, as well. But to me, including this in your statement would suggest your disinterest in Physics, and the magnitude of this negative impact would be greater than any possible positive impact your ability to get good grades without attending lectures might have. If you have good grades, they are namely a testament of your abilities in and of itself, and need no additional "oh yeah, and I also wrote all of my tests with one of my eyes closed and three fingers tied together" bravado.

I would read that comment as "this candidate does that which is compulsory but nothing more". That is certainly not a good trait for a PhD, because nothing is compulsory, and you need to be highly dedicated in order to succeed.