Special Request: Deadline 2PM EST 9/25/2013

• Thread starter FlexGunship
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Request
In summary, Flex was selected for a leadership program and has a one-on-one coaching session today. She thinks she has gotten the first time slot out of the 25 people in the program. She has goals of being an executive and thinks she can do management in her sleep, but is excited to discuss her skills and shortcomings with her coach.
FlexGunship
Gold Member
I've been selected for my company's leadership program. I have a one-on-one coaching session today. I think I've gotten the first time slot out of the 25 people in the program (world wide).

We're encouraged to talk about our goals and our recent "round 2" in-depth MBTI results. What are some other topics I might bring up? I'm drawing a blank.

I'm a senior controls engineer specializing in motion and mechatronics. My MBTI type is ENTJ. I'm 28. My short term goals are pretty standard, there's no manager for our engineering group, so I'd like to fill that role. I've spent a total of 5 years in project leadership and 3 years in functional leadership. My long term goals (like everyone else's, I'm sure) is to be an executive. I realize it's impractical, but it's a goal.

We meet at 2 (in about an hour). Just got the invite. Any suggestions?

Physics news on Phys.org
Congrats Flex. :smile:

FlexGunship said:
My long term goals (like everyone else's, I'm sure) is to be an executive.

Don't make assumptions without evidence :smile:

I figured out years ago that I can do "management" in my sleep, but it was so boring I probably wouldn't want to wake up again.

Here's a question to think about: Suppose you were promoted 2 or 3 levels up the management hierarchy from your current position, and given the power and the budget to change whatever you liked in the company. What would you do?