Solve Diff Eqns for Polar Functions & Critical Points

• Thread starter vinverth
  • Start date
Use algebra and trigonometry to solve for these points.In summary, the conversation is about a student seeking help with two math questions, one involving finding the differential equations for polar functions and the other involving locating critical points. The conversation includes the student's attempts at solving the problems and their request for assistance.
vinverth
Hello everyone..Find it embarrassing enough on asking a question on my very first post but I've been an avid reader of the forums for the past couple of months and been finding what i need for all my assignments here.So a big Thank You to all who've helped.I'm A EE grad and have a math course in my final semester so am a complete noob when it comes to grad math courses,a little consideration here while posting replies or even answers.So here i have a couple of q's whose answers or at least a decent start I've been searching all over the web.

1.Find the differential equations for the polar functions r,ө of the following two-dimensional systems.

(a) x'=x+y
y'=x-y

2.Locate the critical points of the following systems.

(a) x'=x-y²
y'=x²-y²
These are both separate questions.Answers to anyone pleasezzz..
(b) x'=sin(y)
y'=cos(x)Thank You again to everyone and please bail me out guys!

Physics news on Phys.org
vinverth said:
1.Find the differential equations for the polar functions r,ө of the following two-dimensional systems.

(a) x'=x+y
y'=x-y

Polar coordinates are defined by

[tex]x = r \cos\theta,~y=r\sin\theta.[/tex]

You should rewrite the equations using these and solve for [tex]r', \theta'[/tex].

2.Locate the critical points of the following systems.

(a) x'=x-y²
y'=x²-y²
These are both separate questions.Answers to anyone pleasezzz..
(b) x'=sin(y)
y'=cos(x)

Critical points are the points where the derivatives of functions either don't exist or are zero.