Can Self-Taught Physics Knowledge Truly Enhance Your Life?

• Thread starter DivergentSpectrum
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation discusses a support thread for self-taught physicists and the experiences of individuals who have chosen to teach themselves physics and math. One person shares their journey of learning these subjects after a few years of doing nothing since high school, while another person advises against solely relying on self-teaching and suggests going through a university program. The conversation also touches on the possible benefits of self-teaching and the idea of using this knowledge to improve one's life.
DivergentSpectrum
This is a support thread for self tought physicists.

When I turned 20 after 2 years of doing nothing since high school, I decided I was going to teach myself physics and my dreaded nemesis, math.

It started with learning the algebra i hadnt learned in high school. By 23 I had completed learning multivariable calculus and differential equations, then decided I was going in the wrong direction, and found religion(regrettably).
Im 26 now.
anyway since then i got my mind right, put the weed away, and my interest has been rekindled. I now know maxwells equations, and it seems my life got weird just when i was short of learning relativity and quantum mechanics. (Which was my original goal anyway)

But somethings missing. Oh sure I am not 300k in debt for a piece of parchment that ill never be able to pay off, but what good is it? What can I do to better my life with a working understanding of the things 99% of the population is ignorant of and nothing to show for it?
well, I guess that's my question, feel free to share your stories, advice, etc

Physics news on Phys.org
IDK why you decided to teach yourself physics instead of, say, accounting. That's something only you can know.