First post since 2009. I've learned a lot. Where to go from here?

daytripper
So I hope I'm posting in the right place. This is a request for advice on my STEM education but I have no immediate intention of attending university again (maybe one day). Rather, I'm requesting guidance on the future direction of my independently driven academics (i.e. "self-study").

I created this account back in 2005, while I was still in high school. I asked a bunch of questions, trying to wrap my head around SR (when I have time, I'm sure I'll get a good laugh by going back and reading what I wrote). I eventually figured that out and moved on to GR and QM and have gotten a pretty good handle on those things. In the meantime, I got a non-physics STEM degree, a job outside of physics, and continued to study math and physics in my spare time. There's still plenty for me to learn wrt GR and QM (more the latter than the former) but I'm satisfied with my grasp of them. I think the MWI paired with QFT and an extreme focus on the role of information and computable processes works very well. Finally gave in to the suggestions that I read Tegmark's book about the MUH and I've found the book to be a fairly precise explanation of my interpretation of physics (though it's been wonderful to read the additional insights he offers). I find that the holographic principle, AdS/CFT correspondence, the Beckenstein bound, the Landaurer principle, the delayed choice quantum erasure experiment, etc, etc all put writing on the wall that I can't quite read.

So my question: where to go from here? I'm thinking of diving into some of the theories beyond the standard model. I've heard that I should consider LQG, TQFT, and/or Twistor theory. But I'm not sure which of these I should start with. Given my background and preferred perspective, where should I begin my investigation forward? Am I getting ahead of myself?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

Likes PeroK
Physics news on Phys.org