So what to study during the summer?

In summary: That being said, I've read that you can't really do much in the summer or winter if you don't take some prerequisites to college like Calculus and Physics.In summary, the author is considering whether or not to focus on mathematics and physics during the summer in order to better prepare for college-level mathematics and physics courses. He feels that if he does not focus on these subjects, he will not be able to do everything he wants to do in college and may have to take out core courses.
kingdomof
I'm going to be taking Gen Bio/Chem, Calc I, and a Seminar in the fall (first year of college) and I want to study something during the summer. So far I'm just reading some philosophy and balancing things out with Physics (to go over Calculus and build my math skills) Organic Chemistry (I studied Gen Chem by myself during Senior year of HS), and Gen Bio. I kinda feel all of these studies are going to be fruitless and forgotten, barring the Physics as it would help me to an extent when I retake Calc I.

To be honest, I never had a solid foundation in Math until this year when I had to take Calc and teach myself a ton of basic crap which I never really was taught. I'm thinking that I should focus on Calc and Physics, but I want to hear some advice first. I'm looking to be a Biochemistry major but I want to pick up a bit of Physics. I don't want to go into Bio too much.

Physics news on Phys.org
Why do you want to be a biochemistry major if you don't want to get into biology?

You sound more like a biomedical engineer if anything. Either way--I don't think its possible to go wrong with learning calculus. You might want to review some pre-calculus and trig if you're not on solid ground with it though, because that'll probably be the hardest part of calculus for you going into college.