Should I still go for a physics major

In summary, the speaker is a first-year university student majoring in physics who recently received a low grade on a physics test. They are considering changing their major but are unsure because many others in the class also received similar grades. The test had two parts, multiple choice and long answer questions. The speaker got 40% off on the multiple choice questions and lost 4 marks on one part of a long answer question. The speaker is reminded that struggling and making mistakes is a common experience for scientists and that it takes effort to overcome them. They are encouraged to reflect on their mistakes and work towards improvement.
Woah_Moses
So I'm in my first year of university doing a physics major and I wrote my test for introductory physics. When I wrote the test I didn't feel like it was hard or anything I thought I would do fairly well; the problem is when I got it back I barely passed 56% (this is the lowest mid-term mark I ever got in any course). If I can't even manage to get a decent grade in an introductory physics class what chance do I have later on when it get more difficult; so I'm thinking of changing my major but on the other hand most people in the class got a similar grade (my grade was actually slightly higher than the class average) so maybe I'm not hopeless. I can't decide what to do I need advice.Also: I don't know if this matters or not but the test had 2 parts long answer and multiple choice. There were 9 multiple choice questions worth 8 marks each (I got 5 wrong so 40 percent off there) and 2 long answer questions (divided into several parts) worth 28 marks (I got one part of question 2 wrong and lost 4 marks).

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org