Should I Focus on Physics or Add a Second Major for Grad School?

In summary, most physics grad schools do not expect you to have completed grad coursework by the time you graduate. However, if you are an exceptional student and you are finding undergraduate courses too easy, you may be able to take a graduate course or two in your senior year.
pierce15
Hello,

I am currently a first-year undergraduate. Do most physics grad schools expect to see grad coursework in your schedule by the time you graduate? If you start earlier (e.g. second or third year) and do well, how much does this help an application? Of course I know that this helps an application, but I am wondering about the extent.

The reason I ask is that I have two paths I can take. One is to focus heavily on physics and start grad classes early (either second or third year), and the other is to add molecular engineering as a major. If I did that, the amount of grad coursework I had time for would be almost none. However, this would allow me to get some very valuable experience with working with quantum materials. For reference, I will probably try to do work in condensed matter physics, atomic physics, or molecular physics.

So which approach do you think is better as a grad school applicant? I should note that I realize research is the most important thing and that I will have plenty of experience by the time I graduate.

Physics news on Phys.org
pierce15 said:
Do most physics grad schools expect to see grad coursework in your schedule by the time you graduate?

No. Many students at colleges without graduate programs (and therefore no graduate-level courses) go on to grad school.

I think there can be considerable danger in taking graduate courses too early.

Like Jtbell said, you can get into graduate school without having taken any graduate courses. In fact, this is the norm in my experience.