Should I continue on with my school's Honors Program?

In summary, the conversation discusses the benefits and potential drawbacks of completing an honors program in college for the purpose of preparing for graduate school. The individual asking for advice is concerned about balancing the added responsibilities of the honors program with their other commitments, such as tutoring and research. The conversation also mentions the potential for scholarships and research opportunities through the honors program. It is suggested that the individual consult with their academic advisor for personalized advice.
TheBurningWorld
I am a first year undergraduate student at a state school, and I am currently enrolled in my university's honors college. Completing the honors college would require just about a gen ed per semester, while I am almost complete with my gen eds at the moment.
I am fairly certain that I want to go into grad school and hopefully one day into professional physics, will graduating with from an honors program help with Grad School applications? I am especially wary of these extra responsibilities as I am already planning on tutoring, doing research, and as well as hopefully being a Resident Advisor to pay for college. Does anyone have any advice? Suck up the gen eds (that I do well in mind you)? Or focus on GPA, research, and GRE?

Physics news on Phys.org
You'll have to give us more information on your honors program for us to give you advice. More gen eds are annoying, but the honors program may offer more opportunities which will indirectly help you go to graduate school.