Self-studying Physics with a math background

In summary, the speaker is a graduate student in a math program who is interested in self-studying physics. They have taken some basic math classes but their physics background is lacking. They are looking for suggestions on how to approach self-studying physics and want to eventually understand the applications of topology and manifold theory. One suggestion is to start with the book "Computer Methods for Mathematical Calculations" by Forsythe, Malcolm and Moler.
BuriedAlive
Hi everyone,

I've been interested in self-studying physics for a while now but I really have no idea what's the best to tackle first in terms of subject matter (mechanics, e&m, etc.) or what textbooks are conducive to self study. I'm currently a grad student in a math program, and I've taken lots of the basic "abstract math" classes (semester of abstract algebra, semester of topology, semester of diff. geometry, etc.), but my physics background is woefully inadequate. I've taken the year long intro freshman physics sequence for engineers (so I know all about boxes on inclined planes! haha) but that's it. I would like to (eventually) get to the point that I can understand the applications of topology and and manifold theory in physics, but I'm perfectly fine meandering through other branches of physics along the way to take in the sights. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction!

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
You'd be better off to start from a book that would be a "bridge" between maths and physics.
I would suggest to begin with the following classical book:
"Computer Methods for Mathematical Calculations" by Forsythe, Malcolm and Moler

Related to Self-studying Physics with a math background

1. What is the benefit of having a strong math background when self-studying physics?