Seeking recommendation for rigorous general chemistry textbook

In summary, the conversation is about someone looking for a chemistry textbook to refresh their knowledge after 12 years. They prefer a book that includes calculus and other higher mathematics, as well as introductory quantum mechanics and thermodynamics. Two potential options are Chemical Principles by Atkins and Principles of Modern Chemistry by Oxtoby, but the individual is open to other recommendations. Another person suggests getting Physical Chemistry by Atkins or McQuarrie for a more advanced understanding, but also recommends picking up a separate book on analytical chemistry. Another person recommends Oxtoby and mentions that Linus Pauling's General Chemistry is a good option as well.
mosenja
Title says it all.

But to further elaborate... it's been about 12 years since I had general chemistry, I don't remember any of it, and would like to pick up a textbook to refresh my knowledge. I majored in math and physics, so I would prefer the book not to dodge the use of, say, calculus, other 'higher mathematics', introductory QM, or thermo, if it would be useful giving a rigorous presentation of the material.

A little research has lead to the books Chemical Principles by Atkins and Principles of Modern Chemistry by Oxtoby. Which would be more appropriate for my situation? Or are there other books better suited to me? Any recommendations are appreciated. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Ok, maybe my question was a bit too general and/or vague.

The reviews on amazon.com for those two books are quite mixed, and some are irrelevant. Does anyone here have anything good or bad to say about either of them? If you have used either in the past, would you recommend it?