High school and undergraduate math textbooks for refreshing my skills

• Foundations
  • Thread starter macforlife
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mathemathics
macforlife
Hi everyone, Im new to the forum and physics in general.

I recently started to dig a bit into popular science on quantum mechanics, cosmology, general relativity etc. and found it super interesting ( as everyone on this forum I assume ). I think the time has come for me to dig a bit deeper into the actual physics behind it ( with math involved ), but beforehand I feel like I would like to refresh my high school mathematics.

Im further planning to get deeper into QC, as Im a software engineer.

Can you recommend me some high school and undergrad mathematics books that would set me up for physics later on?
I prefer smaller books that focus on one subject ( let's say calculus, linear algebra etc. ) rather than those bulky 700 pages books that you can't really take anywhere with you.

I will be glad for any suggestions.

Thank you in advance.
Michal

Likes vanhees71
Physics news on Phys.org
Likes Math100, vanhees71 and DeBangis21
@mcastillo356 is working his way on his own through Calculus by Adams. Maybe he can give his opinion.
Stewart and Larson are standard Pre-Calc texts.
BTW, for mathbooks with a large number of editions, there is no problem with not buying the current edition.
The goal is to work a large number of problems so the stuff becomes second nature.

Last edited:
Likes vanhees71, mcastillo356 and berkeman
What @Frabjous said, post #3 is good. Other alternative authors are likely to be good choices also. Visit a library used-book sale and search what you can find there.

Go based on titles of the books, check some of the contents inside and decide if the contents seem to fit what you need. Titles of books usually keep consistency among the many different authors. ( I mean this for lower division undergraduate and high school Mathematics textbooks.)