Seeking Information on Ceramic Brake Manufacturing Process

In summary, Danny, a mechanical engineering student, is writing a paper on ceramic brakes and is struggling to find information about the manufacturing process. He has borrowed books but they only provide information on the composition and material of ceramic brakes. Another forum member states that the process is likely confidential and only accessible to the plant producing the brakes. Danny expresses frustration but is grateful for the response.
12danny21
Hello guys, my name is Danny and I am a mechanical engineer going through my undergrad and i have a question. Right now I am still doing my lower division courses and one of the things i need to do is to write a paper about ceramic brakes and the manufacturing process. So far I have borrowed a couple of books and all they had was information about the composition and information about ceramic material being a polymer. So far I have had no luck about finding the manufacturing process of these type of brakes. Hopefully someone on this forum can help me on this problem. Thanks alot.

-Danny

Engineering news on Phys.org
You probably won't find much on the actual process to manufacture these brakes. The process is probably under lock and key and only the plant producing the brake pads has access to the full process.

Sorry, you probably didn't want to read that.

Thanks
Matt

dam that sucks. well thanks for your response. I rather have that than go crazy over trying to find it.

Related to Seeking Information on Ceramic Brake Manufacturing Process

1. What is the manufacturing process for ceramic brakes?

The manufacturing process for ceramic brakes typically involves the following steps:

• Mixing and molding: The raw materials, including ceramic powder and resin, are mixed together and then molded into the desired shape.