REU if not enrolled in degree program?

In summary, it is generally not possible to do an REU without being currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree program. Some REU descriptions may state this as a requirement, while others may allow exceptions. However, most REUs require applicants to be enrolled in an undergraduate degree program. Some labs, such as Fermilab and Los Alamos, may accept students who have already graduated. Another option for pre-graduates is the IMMERSE program at the University of Nebraska.
Rasalhague
Is it possible to do an REU without being currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree program? Some REU descriptions do state this is a requirement. Others seem to expect it, but don't explicitly rule out other possibilities. Does anyone have experience with this?

I have a bachelor's degree in English and a few credits of undergrad math classes (including some upper division), taken as a non-degree-seeking student; otherwise self-taught.

Physics news on Phys.org
Rasalhague said:
Is it possible to do an REU without being currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree program?

No. "An undergraduate student is a student who is enrolled in a degree program (part-time or full-time) leading to a baccalaureate or associate degree... Students who have received their bachelor's degrees and are no longer enrolled as undergraduates are generally not eligible to participate."

I've been looking at internships and REU's quite a bit lately, and I haven't come across any. All of the ones that I've seen have clearly stated that one must be currently enrolled in a degree seeking program in an undergraduate program.

Some of the labs might accept you. Fermilab has a program for US citizens and international applicants, and they accept students that have already gradauted.

http://ed.fnal.gov/interns/

You might also want to check out Los Alamos

Likes MisterX