Research Area for Nuclear Engineering Ph.D

In summary, the conversation is about a senior undergraduate nuclear engineer considering getting a Ph.D and having difficulty deciding on a specific research area. The individual wants their research to be applicable outside the nuclear sector and is interested in advanced reactors, computation, and materials science. The expert summarizer explains that the current demand is for computational multiphysics, which combines expertise in neutronics, thermal hydraulics, and materials behavior. They also mention that materials science and engineering is a complex and interesting field with many uncertainties to consider.
Apollo16
So I'm currently a senior undergraduate nuclear engineer at a respected university and I've been considering getting my Ph.D for a while now. I'm having difficulty deciding on a specific research area, however. I'd like my research, optimally, to be applicable outside the nuclear sector as well (the industry seems to fluctuate and I don't want to be out of a job because of my specialty). Sadly, what I find most interesting is advanced reactors, such as the Transatomic and TerraPower designs. I know the likelihood of landing a job with one of these companies is slim to none, so I don't think I'm willing to put all of my eggs in that basket.

That leaves me, for the most part, deciding between computation and materials science. Both research areas are great and well-funded for the schools I'm considering. My question is, which area has the greatest job demand now, and in the future? I feel like I'm interested in both, but haven't had enough experience with either to make a well-informed decision at the moment, so any feedback regarding either path would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Apollo16 said:
computation and materials science