Replying to Visitor Messages for Googlemail Users

• Thread starter berkeman
  • Start date
In summary: Oh, dear. Well, I hope it's the latter. I miss chat!Well there can be lots of good reasons.I notice that you can also set up a group chat in googlemail.That's really cool! I've never used Googlemail for chat before.That's really cool! I've never used Googlemail for chat before.I think it's a lot more private than Facebook or Twitter.I think so too. Plus, you can join in on the chat even if you're not a member of the group.I think so too. Plus, you can join in on the chat even if you're not a member of the group.That's really helpful.
berkeman
Mentor
Sorry for the lame question -- how do I actually Reply to a visitor message? I don't see any obvious Reply button in that dialog window. Do I need to go to the other user's visitor message window and just post something there?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
berkeman said:
Sorry for the lame question -- how do I actually Reply to a visitor message? I don't see any obvious Reply button in that dialog window. Do I need to go to the other user's visitor message window and just post something there?

Thanks.
You can either do that or post the reply on your visitor page as a new comment. If you want the messages to remain on one page for the sake of continuity.

You can click on the view conversation button and reply from there. This also brings up all posts exchanged between the two members in chronological order.

Thanks for the help! Now I'm a Power User! :redface:

Posting on the other person's profile page will (I think) send them a notification that you have responded. Posting on your own profile page would not do that.

I am guessing the "view conversation" option would also cause a notification.

Redbelly98 said:
I am guessing the "view conversation" option would also cause a notification.
Shall we try?