Remote Controlled Car frame design

In summary, the frame/chassis you choose is not as important as you think. The most important parts of an R/C car are the engine and the suspension. You will also want to consider what kind of parts you will need to design and build, and what kind of accessories you will need.
ecuas
hello!
I am an engineering student and am participating in a RC Car raacing comp in my college. The comp requires us to contsruct a RC car using either DC motors or miniature IC engines (4cc-6cc). The track will have many obstacles like sand pits, oil spills etc. The objective is to complete the track in the shortst possible time.
I want to know what kind of a frame/chassis should I opt for while building the car. I am not really sure of the importance of the frame in such a small car...will just a simple ladder frame suffice? Also, given the nature of the track, I am thinking of going for indpnt suspensons for each of the wheels. Is it possible to do it?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Have a look at the Kyosho website for inspiration. You probably want to be making a little IC powered buggy, but I don't know what your constraints are. Fully independent suspension sounds like a given, you'll also want to consider suspension geometry and damping rates for optimum performance. Oh, and the lighter the better.

http://www.kyosho.com/eng/products/rc/series.html?series_group_id=100019

If the other competitors are RC car enthusiasts, I'd suggest you go for something a bit more sophisticated thana ladder frame.

I've never had any exposure whatsoever to R/C racing (other than buying a cheap Radio Shack thing to scavenge the servos from). I'm estimating that if a 4-6cc motor is indicated, this thing can't be more than a foot long or so. After all, my weed-whacker has 30ccs. I do know a fair bit about how real 4 x 4's work, though, and for the serious stuff it's all about articulation and tread. Power is secondary, since that can be made up for with gearing.