R or bayes for independent study?

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate student in statistics who is about to enter their final semester. They are considering an independent study and are unsure if they should take a class in R or Bayesian statistics. They feel confident in their computer skills but have no experience with R. They plan to go to graduate school where they will gain experience in both subjects. They mention a book that combines both topics and express concerns about doing the independent study with someone who is not strong in computers and needs a programming course. They ask for opinions and the other person recommends taking the Bayesian course, particularly if it uses WinBUGS. They also mention that R is easy to learn if the speaker has some experience in procedural programming. The speaker mentions a book as
bennyska
i'm an undergrad in stats, and next semester is my last. I'm doing an independent study next semester, and am unsure of what would be more beneficial for me: a class in R, or bayes. i would like to do bayes, and I'm decent on computers with limited programming experience, so I'm not too worried about picking up R as i go along, but that's based on zero experience with R. i will be doing grad school, and i figure i'll get experience with both of these there, so either one would work. there are a few books that combine the two, like kruschle's book, that i could do.
really the issue is there is someone else i'll be doing an independent study with, and she is not only NOT super hot with computers, she also needs a programming course to graduate, so she wants to do R. if we go through the same teacher, we'd have to do one together, but we could possibly go through different teachers.

anyway, anyone have an opinion?
thanks

Physics news on Phys.org