Putnam Exam: Is it Worth it for Undergrads to Focus on Grad School Apps?

In summary, the conversation discusses whether it is worth it for an undergraduate student to focus on the Putnam exam to improve their chances for grad school, or if they should prioritize maintaining a good GPA and gaining research experience. The speaker suggests that studying for the Putnam can be time-consuming and may interfere with coursework and research, and advises considering one's interests and goals before committing to the exam.
Anonymous217
I'll give a quick background on myself: I'm an undergrad soph this coming Fall, and I can take a upper div. course that prepares for the Putnam. However, I've never taken the IMO, AMC, etc., and so I have no experience with problem-solving tests. However, I do have a good deal of undergrad math knowledge (multivar., 2 sem. linear alg/diff eq., discrete, numerical analysis, real analysis, abstract algebra, etc.).

Is it really worth it to try to get a high score for grad schools in the remaining years or should undergrads generally ignore the Putnam and just focus on research?
I heard a 40 or 50+ score is good for applications, but how manageable is that to even obtain?

Physics news on Phys.org
IF you're considering Putnam because you want to go to grad school, then I don't think it's a good idea. To get a decent score, you'll have to study quite a lot and you'll need to make a lot of practise problems. This could get in the way of studying for your real courses.

In my opinion it's best to maintain a good GPA and get some research experience. Focus on that if you want to go to grad school. Putnam is good if it doesn't interfere with your actual courses and research experience!

micromass said: