Programming for a high school student

In summary: I disagree that C and Lisp are "must master" languages. There are many other, quite different, languages with equal claim to "must master", e.g., Haskell, Prolog, Smalltalk. You only need to master the language you need to do the job!
thrill3rnit3
Gold Member
I'm a high school student currently learning programming. I guess my question would be what kind of side jobs are there for a high school kid that involves programming??

Physics news on Phys.org
I hired a high school senior who did some programming at my office. Initially, he did some data processing in support of the technical work. He ended up programming in MS Visual Basic in Excel and programmed a macro that read output files and generated various plot automatically. The plots/graphs were automatically formatted. His program greatly increased the productivity of the office.

He was valedictorian when he graduated, and he went on to Harvard, where he was a straight-A student majoring in mathematics. He was well compensated for his efforts.

Astronuc said:
I hired a high school senior who did some programming at my office. Initially, he did some data processing in support of the technical work. He ended up programming in MS Visual Basic in Excel and programmed a macro that read output files and generated various plot automatically. The plots/graphs were automatically formatted. His program greatly increased the productivity of the office.

He was valedictorian when he graduated, and he went on to Harvard, where he was a straight-A student majoring in mathematics. He was well compensated for his efforts.

That's really awesome. Do you think there are opportunities where I can just work at home or something? Or are they usually hired to work at an office?

I'm sorry if I sound really ignorant about the topic :-p

Have a look at the "elance" web site, you might pick up a simple "work from home" job from there.

mal4mac said: