Preparing for Classical Mechanics

In summary, the speaker is an EE student who plans on taking modern physics and classical mechanics. They have previously enrolled in a classical mechanics class but found it too difficult. They are seeking advice on how to best prepare for the class, considering their past struggles in mechanics and strong background in mathematics. Suggestions include practicing problems, finding a good introductory physics book, and using Taylor's classical mechanics textbook as a reference. Other recommended books include Hand and Finch, Arya's text, and Landau's text.
jesuslovesu
I'm an EE student and I am going to take modern physics next semester, and then would like to take classical mechanics. I was enrolled for about a half week in a classical mechanics class but it seemed really hardcore and I wasn't prepared for it. (The first homework problem was: Describe the motion of a perfectly flexible cable that falls off a table, what?)

My question is how to best prepare for this class? My previous classes in mechanics haven't been very good.

Should I read K&K's introduction to mechanics? Should I try to get through Classical Dynamics by Marion and Thornton by myself?

My preparation in mathematics should be good enough, I have taken Linear Algebra, Diff eq, Calc 3. Although I am a bit rusty on trig substitutions and performing the integrals.

Physics news on Phys.org
Marion and Thornton is kind of crappy. I've never done K&K. If you can find Hand and Finch, that is my favorite.

If you're confident in math, you should practice as many problems as possible. If you're having trouble understanding the mechanical systems being described in the question, or hard time imagining what will happen to the system intuitively, or don't know how to start the problem by setting up coordinate system and reference frame and such, then I suggest get a good intro physics book and start solving problem there as many as possible.