Physics Grad school as an International student.

In summary, the length of a PhD in the U.S. varies depending on the field and individual circumstances, but it is typically longer than in the EU due to the requirement of taking graduate classes in the first year and potential delays in research.
Darth Frodo
Hi all,

I'm studying Maths and Physics at a University in Europe and I have a few questions regarding going to Grad school in the U.S. and I would be ever so appreciative if you all could shed some light on these. Thanks!

1: The GRE
I know that I must take the PGRE sometime in early 4th year (Senior Year) but what about the GRE? Do I need to take this also?

2: English Language
Thankfully, I come from an English speaking country. I assume I do not have to take any proficiency test do I?

3: Research
As some of you may know, it is more difficult to get undergrad research experience in Europe than it is in the U.S. but I'm still going to try! According to someone on the PGRE site, Grad school admissions in the U.S. are aware of this and take it into account in the admissions process. Is this true?

4: Rigid Degrees
Another difference between the U.S. and E.U. systems is that our degrees are often more Rigid than the U.S. (i.e. we have less opportunity to choose electives), would this harm me in the admissions process. Eg. I wanted to do Condensed Matter in Grad School but have no opportunity to take CM class? Is this taken into account?

5: Area Specialization
This isn't an International Student's question specifically, but how on Earth does one choose what area of physics to go into? I'm having a really hard time choosing?

6: Ph. D in US vs EU
How long does a Ph. D in the US take? In the EU it takes approx. 3 - 4 years but that is starting research almost immediately. In the US as I understand it, one must take Grad Classes for the 1st year? Does it still take the same amount of time?

Thank you for reading.

Physics news on Phys.org