Physics extended research essay (IB)

In summary, an IB student is struggling to choose a research question for their 4000 word essay on experimental physics. They have read a guide on extended essays and are interested in the relationship between mass and slope angle, but their data collection software stopped working in the cold. They are now researching the relationship between the apparent area of contact and the resulting frictional force.
sagarbiswas
hello,

I am an IB student and i am suppose to write a 4000 word own researched essay. I have decided to do it on experimental physics. In this essay our first objective into make a very specific research question on which my essay will be build. My favorite choice of topics are mechanics and electricity. But my teacher says i need to submit a more specific idea, then only she will let me start my further research. It is my kind request to you all to give me your valuable opinions on topics. to make your work more easy can you tell me is there any thing i could do on hydro electric power house. I mean i could make some kind of model..and investigate on it... but investigate what ? what sort of things i should investigate on in a model like this. ( will this hydro electric power model be appropriate or a 4000 word essay). An example of an essay like this is "Investigating the limitations affecting maximum braking on a freeride bicycle" so i have to some up with a specific question like this ..but for now i need to know. is it possible to start an investigation on my topics (hydro electric power house). In this power house what kind of things which can be investigated ?
or may be any other topics on electricity and mechanics, but it should fit in 4000 words.

I will be great full you for your help

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi